## Government of India Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Forest Conservation Division)

Indira Paryavaran Bhawan, Jor Bagh Road, Aliganj New Delhi-1100 03

Dated: 1st September, 2023

## Office Memorandum

Sub: Proposal for seeking prior approval of the Central Government under Section 2 (ii) of the Forest (Conservation) Act, 1980 in favour of M/s Rungta Mines Ltd. for non-forestry use of 156.978 ha of forest land (147.803 ha in Bonai Forest Division & 9.175 ha in Keonjhar Forest Division) for Iron Ore Mining and ancillary activities with in Jumka Pathiriposhi Pahar Iron Ore Block under Forest Division and District Sundergarh and Keonjhar of Odisha State-reg. (Online proposal No. FP/OR/MIN/150048/2021)

The undersigned is directed to refer to the subject cited proposal wherein the Advisory Committee (AC) in its meeting held on 21.08.2023 has decided to constitute a subcommittee which shall visit the area proposed for diversion and examine the proposal holistically, and give recommendations in view of the area being in High Conservation Zone as per Decision Rule 1 and 2 of DSS, and human animal conflict situation. As per extant Rules and guidelines a comprehensive proposal including the road and transmission line was required to be submitted, whereas the state has mentioned that separate proposals are being submitted for road and transmission line. The committee shall therefore also examine the necessity and justification of the separate proposals for road and transmission line. Keeping in view the recommendations of the Advisory Committee, a sub-committee consisting of following members is hereby constituted:

- i. Shri Manoj Pant, Non-official member of the Advisory Committee.
- ii. Shri AT Mishra, DDGF (Central), MoEF&CC's RO Bhubaneswar.
- iii. Shri Sushant Nanda, PCCF cum Nodal Officer (FCA). Government of Odisha.
- iv. Dr. Dheeraj Mittal, AIGF, MoEF&CC, New Delhi.
- 2. The committee shall submit its report with a period of 15 days.

Sd/-(Suneet Bhardwaj) Assistant Inspector General of Forests

To

- 1. Shri Manoj Pant, Non-official member of the Advisory Committee.
- 2. Shri AT Mishra, DDGF (Central) RO, Bhubaneshwar.
- 3. Shri Sushant Nanda, PCCF cum Nodal Officer (FCA), Govt. of Odisha.
- 4. Dr. Dheeraj Mittal, AIGF (F), MoEF&CC, New Delhi.

## Copy for information:

- 1. PPS to DGF&SS/ PPS to ADGF- (FC), MoEF&CC, New Delhi.
- 2. PPS to IGF (FC)/ PA to DIGF (SR), MoEF&CC, New Delhi.

1/52266/2023