## F. No. 11-9/ 98-FC Government of India Ministry of Environment and Forests (FC Division)

Paryavaran Bhawan, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi - 110 510. Dated: 16<sup>th</sup> June, 2011

To

## The Principal Secretary (Forests),

All States / Union Territory Governments except Jammu and Kashmir

Sub: General approval under Section-2 of the Forest (Conservation) Act, 1980 for diversion of forest land for creation of critical public utility infrastructure by Government Departments involving not more than 5.00 ha of forest land in each case in 60 Left Wing Extremism affected districts -reg.

Sir,

I am directed to refer to this Ministry's letter of even number dated 13.05.2011, wherein this Ministry in partial modification of its earlier letter of even number dated 03.11.2010 further relaxed the existing general approval under Section-2 of the Forest (Conservation) Act, 1980 for diversion of forest land for creation of critical public utility infrastructure by Government Departments from 2.00 ha. of forest land in each case to 5.00 ha. of forest land in each case in 60 (sixty) Left Wing Extremism affected districts, and to say that in partial modification of the condition indicated at sl. No. (ii) and (iv) at page -2 of the said letter dated 13.05.2011, no compensatory afforestation in lieu of the forest land diverted in accordance with the said general approval shall be insisted upon.

I am further directed to say that all those proposals where decision on diversion of forest land could be taken by the State Government in accordance with the said general approval, but have already been submitted to this Ministry or its Regional Offices and the decision on diversion of forest land indicated in these proposals has not been taken by the Ministry or its Regional Offices so far, will be returned back to the respective State/ UT Governments for taking decision in accordance with the said general approval.

Yours faithfully,

16/06/001/

A A

(H.C. Chaudhary) Assistant Inspector General of Forests

## Copy to:-

- 1. The Director, Prime Minister's Office, New Delhi for kind information.
- 2. The Secretary (Coordination), Cabinet Secretariat, New Delhi.
- 3. The Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs, New Delhi.
- 4. The Member-Secretary, Planning Commission, New Delhi.
- 5. The Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, New Delhi.
- 6. The Secretary, Ministry of Tribal Affairs, New Delhi.